Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Giving notice....Is there a policy?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Giving notice....Is there a policy?

    In Massachusetts, is there a law that requires you to give 2 weeks notice?

    Meaning, do I have to give 2 weeks notice? Is it OK to give 1 weeks notice?

    thanks

    Alex

  • #2
    No state, including Massachusetts, requires that you provide any particular length of notice. You can give four weeks, two weeks, one week, or none at all.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

    Comment


    • #3
      Agreed. There is no law requiring employees to give notice, as MA is an employment at will state. But employees should check to see if they have an agreement with their employer or if there is a provision in their employee handbook that might explain the consequences of not giving notice.
      This post is by Philip Gordon, a Massachusetts employment attorney (www.gordonllp.com).

      This post is NOT legal advice. It is for general/educational information purposes only. You should not rely on this post if you are making decisions, and it does not create an attorney-client relationship. This post may be considered "advertising" under the MA professional rules for attorneys.

      Comment

      Working...
      X