This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Working" through Lunch

I work as a police officer (private college) (40hr week) (hourly pay) I am scheduled from 11pm til 730am but only get paid for a 40hr week. Sometimes I don't take a lunch or when I do I am in a marked police cruiser monitoring the radio and would respond to a call if need be. Anyone know of any successful lawsuits to get the back pay for the 30 min lunch? Also we never have taken the 2 15 min breaks? If so is there a stat. of limitation on how far back you can go for the pay?

Neither Federal nor Massachusetts state law requires that private employer offer two 15 minute rest breaks; in fact, NO state requires two 15 minute rest breaks for adult employees (six states require a 10 minute rest break for every four hours worked).

MA law requires that if you work six hours or more, you are entitled to a 30 minute meal break. I believe that the Labor Commissioner has been known to grant exceptions in certain circumstances but I have no way of knowing if your situation falls into one of them.

You don't need to file a lawsuit to recover the back pay for the breaks; all you need to do is contact the MA AG's office (they function as the DOL in this state) and file a complaint.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Do you know how far back they will let you try to collect on if a complaint is filed? Thanks

Comment

What immediately comes to mind is two years, three if the violation is found to be willful, but I'm not sure if that's Federal or state. That's why I didn't respond to that part of the question initially - because I'm not sure.
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment