This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deceived

I was a Senior Consultant for this company for over 4 years and had built my pay up through recognized hard work being a company man. About a 11 months ago an opportunity came up that was offered to me to take on a management/application development role as a dedicated resource for one of our clients. Now taking this role was a lateral move and I did not receive a pay increase, but a decent bonus structure was added. It was a working manager role with a lot of development work, I over saw 7 techs, had great reviews and feedback from my management. Most of the same development work was done before I took the job by me as just part of my job as a consultant. This is the interesting thing that I found out the Sales person and Management created the dual role and Manager and Developer just for me and neglected to tell the client. Well as time went on the client found out and demanded that the management role be removed that the development role has enough of a load and the 2 can not co exist. So last week my manger and HR came in and sat me down removed my manger title and cut my pay substantially and removed the bonus structure that was in place. ( I know make less than I did more than 3 years ago) They said that they would offer me a package if I didn't want to stay and I can think about it. I argued my case stating that before I took the job as manger I did all the development work and I didn't feel that it was right. I also explained that they deceived me and the client. The conversations that I had with them were hollow and I got no where. I am now starting to look for a new job, and will ask for a package. I have never been fired from a job before and was wondering what is a good package looking at what happened?

Thanks

There is no law requiring any employer to provide any severance at all, so there's no hard and fast rule that would determine what severance is reasonable.