This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forced to work off hours no pay Massachusetts

I work as a tech fixing equipment. My work week in writing is Mon-Fri 9-5:30 with a 1/2hr lunch break.

This is a job that requires travel from call to call. I have to be at my first call at 9am regardless of where it is. The nature of the business the that if I can't get to another call before the day ends, so be it. I go home. I still get paid 8 hours.

My employer has stated in writing that we have to pick up parts before work begins. This can take anywhere from 5 min to an hour. In addition, we are required to summarize our weekly calls at home after work on Fridays and email our supervisor. This can take 1/2hr or longer.

I am not a salaried employee although they did state a specific weekly pay for the hours listed above. I am not sure exactly what I am classified as, hourly salary? All I know is they don't pay me if I don't go to work.

My questions are:

1) What type of employee am I?
    2) Is it legal to require me to work off the scheduled hours for no additional pay?

Hourly and salary are merely pay methods.

What matters is your classification under FLSA. You are either exempt or non-exempt. The difference is that non-exempt workers qualify for overtime when it's worked. The determination is based on your "primary" job duties. Your job title is not important. Here is a link that explains more: http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/hrg.htm#2.

Finding out your FLSA classification is important before we can answer your second question.

Comment