This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who is responsible for damages Massachusetts

I work in a shop that often need to make deliveries. We have numerous box trucks in our fleet. My company handbook states:

"An operator of a Company truck that strikes the overhead of an underpass or superstructure shall bear full responsibility to (company name here) for all out-of-pocket costs incurred for repair to the vehicle."

Now for the other facts:

-All drivers are listed under the company's general vehicle insurance for regular accidents

-According to the owner/boss, the boxes of a truck are too expensive to insure and therefore if anyone gets in an accident resulting in damage of the box due to an underpass/low tree/etc. it is their problem

-No drivers (or any employees for that matter) have signed the company handbook or any other employment agreement.

-No agreement is signed when you become a driver. All that is required is a copy of our driver's liscense, a copy of our driving record, and a medical exam proving we are not on drugs and can see/hear/etc.

So the question(s):

Is it legal to force an employee to pay damages of company property in this case?

He states he would take it out of ones paycheck should they refuse to pay. (minimum wage laws aside) is it legal for him to take ANY wages earned without pre-written authorization?

Thank you for any light you might be able to shed on this matter.

I would say that it is within the rights of the employer to look to the employee to reimburse the company for damages.

Many companies self insure.

I don't know how legal garnishment is, but the actual request for repayment is legal.
    Not everything that makes you mad, sad or uncomfortable is legally actionable.

I am not now nor ever was an attorney.

Any statements I make are based purely upon my personal experiences and research which may or may not be accurate in a court of law.

Comment