This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Docked check as a salaried employee. Maryland

I work for a mortgage company. There are several salaried employees about 15-20. I am the ONLY one required to keep a time sheet for myself and turn it in every week as well as I am the ONLY salaried employee that gets my check docked if I am 5 minutes late. I work over every single day, most of the time I do not take a full lunch and I still get docked if I am late. And no one else does. Is this legal? Wouldn't this be more of an hourly position?

Salaried is just a pay method. Are you exempt or non-exempt? Do you get OT if you work more than 40 hours in a week? When you get docked for being late are you docked leave or pay?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

The following is an article on legally paying Non-Exempt employees on a Salaried basis. Like ElleMD said, payment methods and exempt status are two very different things, and it is common for people to confuse the rules.

http://payroll-taxes.com/articles/sa...ernatives.html
      "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away".
      Philip K. **** (1928-1982)

Comment

I don't know if I am exempt or not. I do know that I get 1 salary, same amount no matter how many hours I work over or how many days are in a pay period. The only time my check changes is when I am late or I miss a day. It comes right out of my check. I don't get vacation time and I only had 3 sick days and I was out in January with pneumonia so I have so sick time. I just didn't think this was right since I am th eonly employee they do this to.

Comment

What are your actual duties? Do you work for a public or private sector employer?