This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• boarding school regulations? Maryland

I am a new teacher at a private boarding school in Maryland. When I was hired, I understood that, in addition to my full-time teaching duties, I would be responsible for supervising one evening study hall per week (2 hours) and to cover for dorm parents one weekend per month. In return the school provides me with free housing. Before accepting the job, I specifically asked if there would be any further evening or weekend duties. The hiring official said there were no further required hours beyond normal school duties (supervising lunch, etc). I signed what looked like a standard teacher contract, which had the customary line that I would perform "other duties as assigned by the Head of School". In all the schools in which I have previously worked, that is normally interpreted as supervising lunch, bus duty, attending parent nights, mentoring students, sponsoring a club or activity once per week, and occasionally covering classes for ill colleagues.

Upon my arrival at the beginning of the school year, I was informed that I was to be a dorm parent as well as a teacher. I now was expected to work in the dorm one night per week from 6pm to 1am. My one weekend duty per month expanded from merely running a few hours of an activity on Saturday to an extra 6pm to 1am Friday evening, 9am to noon Saturday, again 6pm to 1am Saturday night, then Sunday morning 9-noon.

In addition, lunch every day has become a working period- all staff are required to supervise every lunch hour. Every day after school we are required to supervise a 2-hour sport practice.

To sum up: I am required to work 8am-3:15 teaching (7:15 hours)
    3:30-5:30 sports practice (2 hours)
    One evening 6:00-1:00 in the dorm (7 hours)

For a total of 53 hours per normal week

PLUS weekend duties of 20 hours once per month

Average work week: 53 + 5 = 58 hours