This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• McDonald's hours Iowa

I have been working at (fast food chain) (in Iowa) for about 6 months now and was enjoying it until about the last few weeks. They started not allowing me to clock on when scheduled and sent me home early (due to high labor). I suspect that sending me home early is 100% legal, but I question the legality of not allowing me to clock on when scheduled. For instance, today I was suppose to clock on at 9:30 and I did not get to clock on until 11:15, and last week I also waited 2 hours.

Thank you in advance to whomever answers,

Erook
    Last edited by cbg; 01-09-2010, 08:39 PM.

Sending you home before the end of your shift is legal; so is delaying the start of your shift, even before you have started working.

However, in the specific case you mentioned, were you required to hang around from 9:30 to 11:15? Or were you told "we don't need you to clock in now, come back at 11:15"?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

For the future, do not list the name of your employer.
      The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

I apologize to you cbg, and to your question patty, I was told don't clock in now. Nothing more, nothing less. When you try to ask them later to clock in, either they get annoyed, or you have a chance of clocking in. They don't have the common courtesy to call me and tell me not to come in till X time, which is great fun when I bike in the cold. I have even had an occasion where they did not let me work at all after making me sit around for an hour.

They wont let you go home and call you either, due to someone not returning promptly (came back in 10 minutes.)

Comment