This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non-Payment of Wages

I am an Illinois resident who is an employee of a small private company in Ohio. I am owed salary & commissions from 2005 and commission from 2006. What is the best option I have to recover these monies? Would the laws of my Illinois apply, or the laws of the State of Ohio? Are salary & commissions treated differently? Would filing a private law suit be more effective than working through Illinois agency?

If you were working in Illinois, you would pursue your claim there. As a matter of fact, you would be more fortunate if Illinois was your work state, as laws in Ohio are very sparse regarding this issue.

Illinois deems earned commissions as vested wages, just like salary and, therefore, the state Dept. of Labor should take your claim for both. You should file quickly though, because there is a statute of limitations. A private attorney is also a possibility, but he/she will charge you a portion of what you receive, or at least a hefty hourly fee. The DOL is free; that's what they're there for.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Would the US Deparment of Labor be of help as well?

At one point I thought I had two years to file with IDOL, then I read something about 180 days. Do you know what date applies. By June, they will be 12 months behind on June 2005 salary.

I am still working for the company, and they are slowly paying down the owed commissions, but I am concerned about letting this go too long. Also, they are always late on current payments by about ten days as well.

If I keep working for them, and file this claim also, will the IDOL keep me informed so that I would know when they are going to contact them?

Comment