Overtime 40 hours or 80 hours??? Illinois

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overtime 40 hours or 80 hours??? Illinois

I was wondering I get paid bi-weekly and my employer will not pay overtime unless you work over 80 hours. could anyone clear me up on what the law is cause i thought it was anything over 40 hours for that week.
    Last edited by EyeGore22; 08-03-2012, 11:48 PM.

What industry? It makes a difference.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

it is in retail.

Comment

When someone says something about an 80-hour overtime exception, the obvious exception is specific to the hospital (and related industries). That particular exception does not apply to retail.

So lets back up and start at the beginning. The federal law talking about overtime after 40 hours worked in the workweek is called FLSA. That law mostly discusses the rules for minimum wage and overtime (also chlld labor). There are something 100 or so Exempt classification exception to MW, OT or both. If somone falls under one of these exceptions, they are refered to as Exempt and the normal MW/OT rules are changed as specified in the exception. We have just eliminated the hospital exception with it's 80-hour rule because you work retail. One rule down, 99 (more or less) to go.