This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pay cut without notice? Illinois

Ok, here's my problem! I work part time at a restaurant. I left on maternity leave in the beginning of October, i was then making $7.50 per hour, which is minimum wage. When I returned to work, I had a discussion with my general manager about my pay and how I would like a raise. I asked for $9 per hour. He then said he couldn't raise it that much, but agreed to $8.75. I accepted even though I thought I deserved more. When I received my most recent pay check, though, my wage said I was making only $8.50. Now, I have been making $8.75 since I returned in November. I was not notified of this pay cut or given a reason. Is this legal? I have been working at this location for over 2 years. I know it's only a quarter difference, but when you're a single mom working a low paying job, a quarter makes a BIG difference!

I'm just wondering if the actions made by my employer are legal or not. Please help!?
    Last edited by alexis_mommy; 03-31-2008, 05:55 AM.

First of all, I recommend you edit your post to remove the name of the company. We had a poster here that was fired (legally) for posting the name of his employer here and we wouldn't want that to happen to you.

Contact the state Dept. of Labor and inquire as Illinois law prohibits retroactive pay decreases. Did the person tell you it was a "mistake" since November? Is it possible that the person who told you $8.75 was not authorized to make such a decision?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

pay cut without notice