X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Binding Contract - is this legal?

Hello,

I work in the Interactive Media Industry here in Hawaii and my employer wants us designers to sign a contract that binds us to his company even after 18 months of leaving the company. Basically, the contract states that if we decide to quit or terminated we can't do any design work for any other design company for the next 18 months.

Not only this seemed like an illigal approach to his insecure thinking but this means if we get offered any other job by another company in the similar field we are not allowed to take it.

Is this legal?

Hawaiian courts have recognized the validity of non-compete agreements as long as the stipulations in it are reasonable. 18-months would probably be construed as reasonable. For best results, however, you'd need to have the actual contract reviewed by a local attorney.
    I am not able to respond to private messages. Thanks!

Comment

Thank you..

Thank you for that quick response. We will have an attorney look over the contract before we sign it.

Aloha.

Comment

One of the claims that could be made against a non-compete is that, in some industries, 18 months is a lifetime and is unreasonable. I don't know if that applies in your industry or not.
        I am not able to respond to private messages. Thanks!

Comment

tax cheat?

Hi Marketeer (or anyone willing to help!!)

It seems as if my boss is trying to cheat the system and I was wondering if this is legal?

I'm a 1099 employee and a week ago he wanted me to start coming in on a scheduled time. I checked with the Board of Labor here in Hawaii and they told me that was definitetly illegal. Because I am an Individual Sub-Contractor I work on my time, if I come in on a scheduled time then I would have to be an employee.