This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with filing an appeal in GA Georgia

I was recently fired from my employer, over the phone, with no reasoning at all. I received a phone call from the Claims examiner a few weeks later from the unemployment office stating the the employer gave reason for firing because of "poor attendance". The evidence the employer gave were "verbal warnings".

I never received ANY verbal warning for my attendance NOR did I ever have any attendance problems with this company. I am a personal trainer and the company stated I wasn't there for my clients and gave dates. In one claim they used a client that's schedule didn't coincide with mine so she went with another trainer. This is the industry, it happens everyday with trainers. We can't be there 24 hours a day for everybody. How can I fight something like this? In another claim they even stated that I wasn't there to schedule a client when she came into the gym. As a trainer I do not come in when I do not have a client so it is impossible for me to be there when a member comes in to schedule something as such unless I have a scheduled client at that time. Clients schedule sessions with the gym employees all the time. They are using the claim examiners lack of knowledge of the industry to make it seem like I wasn't doing my job.

I have many written testimonials of my hard work for this company from my clients, one of which comes from one of the people the employer said came into schedule an appointment and I wasn't there, I know she would attest to this and them using her name in such a way.

I am going to file an appeal today and need to know, if possible, how to go about fighting something like this.