No announcement yet.

Florida Child Labor Laws Poster

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Florida Child Labor Laws Poster

    The State of Florida and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act Protecting the Health, Education and Welfare of Minors in the Workplace.
    This chart summarizes the child labor laws of the State of Florida and the Federal Fair Labor Standards (FSLA).
    The stricter provisions must be observed and are denoted by bold lettering.
    The Federal law in italics.
    Minors 16 & 17
    Florida: May NOT work during school hours unless they meet a criterion of the Hour Restrictions listed below. FSLA: No Limitations

    Minors 14 & 15 - Under 14 years old MAY NOT WORK
    Florida & FLSA: May not work during school hours (some exceptions apply).

    Florida & FLSA: Not required, except the FLSA requires the employer to maintain date of birth information for all employees under 19 years old.

    Florida: May work up to 30 hours per week. Not before 6:30 a.m. or later than 11 p.m. and for no more than 8 hours a day when school is scheduled the following day. On days when school does not follow, there are no hour restrictions.
    FLSA: No limitations.

    Florida: May work up to 15 hours per week. Not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. and for no more than 3 hours a day on school days, when a school day follows. May work up to 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and on nonschool days, when school days do not follow, until 9 p.m.
    FLSA: Daily maximum of 3 hrs. on school days, 8 hours
    nonschool days; weekly maximum is 18 hours; not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. Note: Application of both state and federal law allows this age group to work up to 8 hours on Saturday, Sunday and nonschool days, when school days do not follow, until 7 p.m.

    (summer vacation; winter & spring breaks)

    Florida: No Limitations
    FLSA: No limitations.
    Note: Hazardous occupations still apply for minors.

    Florida: May work up to 8 hrs. per day and up to 40 hrs. per week; may not work before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.
    FLSA: May work up to 8 hrs. per day and up to 40 hrs. per week. Work must be performed between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.; from June 1 to Labor Day may work until 9 p.m.

    Florida: No more than 6 consecutive days in any one week. FLSA: No limitations.

    Florida: Minors may work no more than 4 consecutive hours without a 30 minute
    uninterrupted break.
    FLSA: No limitations.
    Florida: Minors participating in farm work, not on their parents or guardian’s farm, must
    comply with the same restrictions as in other work. FLSA: No limitations.

    FLSA: No employment permitted during school hours. May work after school in occupations not declared hazardous in agriculture. See Child Labor Bulletin 102. (Exception: 12 and 13 year-olds may be employed with written parental consent or on a farm where the minor’s parent is also employed; minors under 12 may be employed with written parental consent on farms where employees are exempt from the federal minimum wage provisions.)

    RESTRICTED OCCUPATIONS The State of Florida has incorporated the 17 Hazardous Occupations (HOs) of the FLSA into the Florida law and Child Labor Rule. For more info on HOs, contact the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division. This poster represents a combination of those laws with an ** annotating Florida law “only.” Minors under the age of 18 may not work in below occupations:
    • Working in or around explosives or radioactive substances
    • Operating Motor vehicles
    • Logging or sawmilling
    • Operating power-driven meat processing machines to include meat and vegetable slicers; slaughtering, meat packing, processing or rendering
    • Working on any scaffolding, roofs or ladders above 6 feet; roofing
    • Wrecking, demolition or excavation
    • Mining occupations
    • Operating power-driven bakery; metal-forming, punching, and shearing machines; woodworking, paper products or hoisting machines
    • Manufacturing brick and tile products
    • Operating circular saws, band saws, & guillotine shears
    ** Working with compressed gases exceeding 40 p.s.i.
    ** Working in or around toxic substances, corrosives or pesticides
    ** Firefighting
    ** Working with electrical apparatus or wiring
    ** Operating or assisting to operate tractors over 20 PTO horsepower, forklifts, earthmoving equipment, any harvesting, planting, or plowing machinery or any moving machinery

    Minors 14 and 15 may not work in these occupations:
    • Operating any power-driven machinery other than office machines, including all power mowers and cutters
    • Maintaining or repairing an establishment, machines, or equipment
    • Working in freezers or meat coolers
    • Operating, setting up, adjusting, or cleaning power-driven meat or vegetable slicers, grinders, food choppers, and cutters, and bakerytype mixers
    • Operating motor vehicles
    • Manufacturing, mining, or processing occupations where goods are manufactured, mined, or processed
    • Cooking (some exceptions apply) & baking
    • Working in occupations in Transportation, Warehouse & Storage, Communications, and Construction (except clerical); boiler or engine rooms
    • Loading and unloading trucks
    • Working in public messenger services
    ** Handling certain dangerous animals
    ** Conducting door-to-door sales of products as employment (some exceptions)
    ** Spray painting

    Hour Restrictions – (from hour restrictions only; hazard restrictions still apply until 18 yrs.)
    • Minors who hold waivers from a public school or Child Labor Compliance
    • Minors who are or have been married
    • Minors who have either graduated from an accredited high school, or hold a high school equivalency diploma
    • Minors who have served in the U.S. Armed Forces
    • Minors who are enrolled in high school work programs

    Age Restrictions — (from age requirements; hazard restrictions still apply)
    • Minors who work for their parents in occupations not declared hazardous
    • Pages in the Florida legislature
    • Newspaper delivery (10 years old)
    • Minors in the entertainment industry registered with Child Labor Compliance
    A court may authorize an exemption from age and hour restrictions.

    PARTIAL WAIVERS The Florida Child Labor law is designed to serve and protect minors and encourage them to remain in school. At times, some minors may feel that the law conflicts with their best interest or their life circumstances; therefore, they have the right to request an exemption from the law. If a minor is attending a K-12 public school, a waiver may be obtained and granted by the local school district. All other minors may request an application by contacting the Child Labor Compliance. Waiver applications are reviewed and granted on a case by case basis. To qualify, applicants must demonstrate that certain requirements of Florida law need to be waived.
    Employers must keep a copy of partial waivers of employed minors.
    PENALTIES Florida: Employment of minors in violation of Florida Child Labor laws may result in fines up to $2,500 per offense and/or be guilty of a second degree misdemeanor. FLSA: Maximum fines up to $10,000 per minor/per violation.
    WORKERS’ COMPENSATION Florida: If an injured minor is employed in violation of any provisions of the Child Labor laws of Florida, an employer may be subject to up to double the compensation otherwise payable under Florida Workers’ Compensation law.
    POSTING REQUIREMENTS Florida: All employers of minors must post in a conspicuous place on the property or place of employment, where it may be easily read, a poster notifying minors of the Child Labor laws.
    For information on Florida laws contact:
    Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation • Child Labor Program
    For information on federal laws contact:
    U.S. Department of Labor, Wage & Hour Division, listed in the telephone directory under U.S. Government;
    Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the United States Department of Labor
    "Working Together for Florida's Workforce"
    Last edited by laborlaw; 05-24-2005, 07:19 AM.

  • #2
    Sad and confused:

    Your message was deleted because it was not appropriate for the forum. Questions about who you are legally allowed to date do not belong in a forum about labor and employment law. Please use the Family law forum for that.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.


    • #3
      My daughter is only 13 but wants to get a job at 14???

      Hi everyone, I'm new to this board.. I actually found it by trying to look up the child labor laws...

      Can someone help.. My daughter is a straight A student always has been.. in the top of her class.. and has never really needed for much of anything.. don't get me wrong we are far from rich.. but she wants to do some kind of roll playing thing.... I think it is called something like cosplay or something like that..

      Anyway.. she wants to go to this with her friends and parents over a weekend and enter into a contest.. and it will end up costing about 300-400$ for all of this.. including her costume..

      Now she is VERY responsible and wants to get a job.. and I am proud of her for that.. as she is not looking at us for the money..

      However, hubby and I are having a hard time with this.. as she is our baby.. LOL... always has been and always will be..

      Anyway.. What job will hire a 14 year old??? and did I read that right that she would only be working 3 hours a day for school days and 8 hours on weekends?

      I just don't want any chance of her grades to slip... or for her to loose interest in school..

      Has anyone else had anything like this happen to them?? any suggestions..
      Last edited by MichelleF; 08-06-2006, 07:21 PM.


      • #4
        Here's the law.

        However, finding a job at age 14 is going to be pretty hard. There are plenty of 16-17 year-olds looking too, and at 14, she is limited as to what she can do (hazardous jobs, hours she can work, etc.).

        I hate to fall back on the old cliche, but how about baby-sitting? pet-sitting? house-sitting? A straight A student, how about tutoring?

        Good luck to her. She sounds like a great kid.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.


        • #5
          Thanks, yeah she is a great kid...

          I respect her decision that she don't want to look towards her parents all her life.. however she is only 13 1/2 LOL.. We enjoy giving her what she needs or wants.. Because she is so good.. We enjoy showing her with positive things..

          I know I talked to her about baby sitting and such but she isn't to much into it.. =)) even though she has a 3 year old brother... (my son) LOL.. and I have paid her to babysit him.. But she is looking at the 5.15 an hour.. LOL and I just can't afford that much..

          But thanks for the ideas and compliment..


          • #6
            Um, you're not required to pay minimum wage to your 14 year old daughter for babysitting her kid brother.
            The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.


            • #7
              lol no I don't pay her min wage.. LOL I pay her like 10$ or less.. but she is wanting a job that pays min wage... but after thinking about it for a while.. I don't think we are going to allow her to do it.. as I just feel she is to young at this time..


              • #8
                I do, too. 13 1/2 IS to young to be working outside the home (or other people's homes), out in the workplace. Plus, at 13 1/2, she can't be legally employed (as she wants to be) anyway. There's plenty of time. They're always in such a hurry to grow up.
                I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.


                • #9
                  I have a friend that works for a local franchise. She is 17. A few days before school started back, she was scheduled to work a 10 hour shift. To our understanding, she couldn't work more than 4 strait hours without a break. She worked 6 before she asked for the break. The manager told her she would not be getting a break because we didn't have enough people. She called her mother to let her know she wouldn't be coming home for her break. The manager said,"If it's that important to you, go on break!" She did.

                  I approached the owner of the franchise about what happened and he said," Technically,during summer, we don't have to give minors a break." I was under the impression that the law applied year round.

                  The next day she worked(which was on a Friday), she was given a break after being there for an hour and a half. This was done clearly out of spite. But the problem here lies in the fact that she was made to work another 8 hours without a break.

                  And just last night, she went in at 4 and was scheduled to get off at 9. They let her off at 8:30 and did not give her a break. That's 4 and a half hours.

                  In Florida, after you turn 18, you don't have a legal right to a break. My friend just wants to take the breaks the law has provided while she can.

                  My questions are 1) Do the child labor laws according to breaks apply throughout the year? 2) Since the second incident happened on a Friday, do the laws change? 3) Can my friend take legal action against the franchise owner? 4)What kind of documentation should she have in hand when pursuing this?
                  Last edited by Curiousity Killed Me; 08-10-2006, 08:53 AM.


                  • #10
                    duplcate post/response
                    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.


                    • #11
                      questions about breaks

                      Does a child have to ask for a break after four hours of work, or does the employer need to offer it?
                      Also, is it illegal for an employer to require you to stay in the workplace during a break?


                      • #12
                        Please start your own thread rather than tack a new question onto a long dead thread. Thank you.
                        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.