This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer Files A Late Appeal Florida

I was a Substitute Teacher in a large school district in Florida who was released by the district for reasons I disputed. I filed for Unemployment and the district office (one HR manager in particular) objected. An Unemployment Claims Adjudicator found in my favor. The HR Manager in question filed an appeal, but did so late. The appeal was not filed within the 20 days allowed. She actually filed on the 21st day, but late is late. The individual in question (one of 3 HR Mgrs in a large department) gives the reason for the late filing that she was in Maryland, at her father's memorial, for 7 of those 20 days. However, there were other times she could have filed the appeal, she had a week before she left and another week after she returned before she filed the appeal. There are also two other HR Mgrs and a large HR staff, someone else could have done it. It is up to the referee is she has good cause, but the referee is also bound by law. I believe I have a good argument.

I have a telephone hearing before an appeals referee on 5/11/10 at 4pm. Timeliness is one of the issues at the hearing. I am scared and hoping that the timeliness issues ends it, but I have to be prepared to continue if it does not. I just wanted to know if you could offer me any assistance in preparing for the telephone hearing or knew someone who could.

Erin Carrigan
    Last edited by erinleacarrigan; 05-03-2010, 08:29 PM. Reason: Removing my personal email address because I worry about receiving spam.

Well...always elling the truth is vital. However, I would suggest to the UI investigator that there were other HR personnel available who could have stepped in during her leave.

Good luck! It is my experience that late filing is never a good idea, hopefully they will sustain this in the hearing.