No announcement yet.

California OT laws

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • California OT laws

    I have 3 questions re: California Labor Law...

    1) Is it legal to work over 12 hours a day in a regular mon-fri 40 hour work week?

    2) Is it legal for an employer to require you to take lunch at 2pm when your start time is at 7am? Or schedule mandatory meetings and training during your lunch period?

    3) How often are employers required to allow you to go on break/ lunch?


  • #2
    1.) Yes.

    2.) No, California law says that your lunch break must be no later than five hours into your work day. Not enough information to say on the mandatory meeting question.

    3.) California law requires a ten minute rest break for every four hours of work and a 30 minute meal break as described. The meal break can be waived IF both the employer and employee agree. IF the work day is more than 10 hours long, there must be a 30 minute second meal break. The second meal break can be waived IF the first meal break was not AND the entire workday is no longer than 12 hours.

    There are multiple industry specific exceptions.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.