HELP! Exempt employee rights with NO PTO policy California

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HELP! Exempt employee rights with NO PTO policy California

I currently work as an exempt employee for an employer who has no bona fide PTO policy.

I recently accepted a job offer and the start date is at the end of this month (August 30). I have a two week vacation scheduled that leads up to the start date at my new job.

I've had this vacation on the book for over 6 months and have been at the company for going on 2 years and have taken almost no time off. I feel I have earned this vacation and it should be paid to me.

However, because of the lack of PTO policy I know that I will not get paid if I give notice before taking my vacation.

Based on what I've read, my employer can also dock my wages if I quit after vacation (before receiving my paycheck on August 31).

My question is: If my employer provides me a company laptop with the expectation that I will do some work (check emails/approve expense reports) while on vacation, do they still have to pay me for my vacation if I quit when I get back?

It's a really tough situation to be in. I haven't been treated well at this company and would like to get paid for a vacation I feel I've earned. Thanks
    Last edited by SDSurfer; 08-02-2017, 10:20 AM.

If you do not work and your employer does not have a PTO policy that banks PTO time and has a policy not to pay out time taken on a vacation during your last 2 weeks "at work", I don't see where you have any recourse. There are no earned wages to dock. So it's more of the fact that you didn't work any in a full pay week for personal reasons which is a legal reason to dock...as is the first or last week of your employment.