This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mandatory meetings and overtime California

I am a Paramedic employed by a private ambulance firm. Our employers look for different ways to trim how much they pay us and many of those ways are questionable. I will present three of them here:

1) When we come back in to the station from our last call, dispatch notes when we arrive. Several times when this occurs we're in overtime. We still have a few things to do that are required to be completed (paperwork, putting equipment away, etc.), otherwise we can be suspended or fired (one Paramedic was recently suspended 48 hours for not completing one required form). These things take 15-30 minutes or so, more or less depending on what's left to be done. My partner is an EMT, with far less responsibilities. Whe he finishes his stuff, he clocks out. When I finally finish my stuff, I clock out a while later. Afterward, I find out that management has trimmed my clock-out time back to the time my partner clocked out ("we don't pay you to sit at the station and do paperwork you could have done in the field" -right, sometimes we run so much there literally isn't any time to do all of the paperwork in between calls!). Sometimes they will trim the time we clock out back to the time we informed dispatch that we arrived back in the station. There is no way we can correct anything or make notes on our time cards because it's all on computer and we're not allowed (by policy and by structure of the computer software) to make any changes to our time cards but management can. If we clock in/out so much as a minute late, there is a mandatory one-line statement that must be entered as to "why" in order to complete the clock-in/out procedure. But we cannot make any marks, statements or changes after that procedure is done. But the management can, and often does.