This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hourly and Salary combo California

So here is my situation: I'm a chef in San Diego and I was hired as an hourly employee (@15.00 hr). Several people quit within a week resulting in the remaining staff picking up the hours. On what would have been my 7th consecutive day I agreed to be switched to salary (@34000 yr). This change resulted in 4 days of hourly and the remaining at salary on my last pay check. I was only given the salary rate. Should I be compensated for the additional days worked on hourly? (And no contract has yet to be seen.)
    The second question is this: Is there a limit to the hours that can be worked in a week or the number of days worked without a day off? During this pay period I received only one day off, and was working about 12 hour days. Are there regulations protecting employees health and safety in such a situation?
    If anyone can give me any idea of how to calculate my wages that would be great.

Parts of your questions I can answer. First of all, things like "hourly" and "salary" are just payment methods that mean next to nothing by themselves. What is legally important is Exempt vs. Non-Exempt. Very basically, all employees are inherently Non-Exempt until/unless the employer can show that one of the 100 or exceptions from minimum wage or overtime applies.

I am not expert on the Exempt classification of chefs. I can say that the job title is legally meaningless, and that the exact duties must be examined in detail. I can say that someone who flips burgers is Non-Exempt, and someone who has a bunch of subordinate chefs reporting to them is Exempt. I can not say exactly what the "bright line" is where a cook (non-exempt) becomes a chef (Exempt), but it is not the job title. At the end of the day, CA-DLSE gets to make that call.