This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Termination California

We planned a termination today for one of our software engineers that were not meeting stated milestons, he was put on probation for 60 days and no improvement was made. today we prepared all termination paperwork and in the meeting he says he wants to resign and not be terminated can they do that and how does that affect us or him ??

Whether you allow him to resign or not is up to you. Resigning means he is less likely to qualify for unemployment but if he claims he resigned in lieu of being fired, it won't make much difference either way.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Sorry, on the contrary

If he voluntarily resigns, he will NOT be eligible for unemployment compensation, unless his resignation was motivated by objectively intolerable working conditions, which from what I understand in this case are not an issue.
      Thus, as an employer - you are better off having him resign, because if you terminate his employment, he will be eligible for unemployment compensation.

Thanks,

Arkady Itkin
      http://www.sanfranciscoemploymentlawfirm.com
      Arkady Itkin
      Attorney at Law
      San Francisco / Sacramento / San Jose
      http://www.arkadylaw.com

Comment

That's interesting because in most states, a resign-or-be-fired situation is treated as being fired for unemployment purposes.

Are you saying that is not the case in California?
        The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Good point. Did I misunderstand? I thought the employee chose to resign on his own volition.