This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mechanic - Wages Question California

I have a question about wages. I am a mechanic who gets paid flat rate per hour. Recently the business I work for has been slow and I have not been able to clock more than 25 hours a week under the flat rate rule. I stay at work at least 50 hours a week. My question is is there a law that requires a business to pay a minimum amount of hours per week, like say 30 hours for the 50 hours a week I put in even though I clocked only 25 hours of flat rate?

My previous employer was paying me 30 hours minimum if I did not clock over 30 hours of flat rate. My new employer said he has not heard about this before and will not pay me a minimum set hour. Does my new employer have the right to do that?

And if there is no law or policy in requiring my employer to pay me a set amount of hours can I leave work early, like put in 8 hours of work instead of my 10 hours work schedule a day?

You need to be paid at least minimum wage for all hours that you are either working or that you are spending "engaged to wait". Overtime is potentially a little more complicated. What type of mechanic you are and what type of industry you are working for sometimes makes a difference. For example, an mechanic working for an Auto Dealer is not legally entitled to the OT premium while a mechanic doing exactly the same work for an employer who is not an Auto Dealer (say a garage) would be eligible for the OT premium.

The law you mentioned is a federal law called FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act). This law is enforced by the federal Department of Labor (DOL). I am including a pointer to one of their fact sheets.

http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs22.pdf

-------

There is no general law that the employer is required to pay for time not worked. There is always the possibility of a very narrow exception such as reporting time or contractual language.