This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Overworked hourly employee- do I get benefits? California

I am in Southern California and I am a City employee. I have been a part time, hourly employee that was hired to work about 19 hours/week (or, 1,000 hours/year). I had been working more than the maximum hours for about 5 years when my employer (the City) told my manager he had to stop scheduling his employees over the legal amount.

The people in payroll, my manager's manager and HR had to have known about our extra hours for the past 5 years, and I have heard more than one manager say that if we work beyond our maximum, then the City would need to pay us benefits as they would any other 20+ hour, sanctioned employee.

Nothing has ever been offered us, so my question is: Is the City legally responsible for paying us the benefits and retirement for the past 5 years?

Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you.

I don't know what "legal" amount is being referenced unless it's either City policy or a union contract issue.

If union, have you spoken with your union rep? If not, have you spoken with anyone in HR?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

legal

Originally posted by needingadvice View Post
      I am in Southern California and I am a City employee. I have been a part time, hourly employee that was hired to work about 19 hours/week (or, 1,000 hours/year). I had been working more than the maximum hours for about 5 years when my employer (the City) told my manager he had to stop scheduling his employees over the legal amount.

The people in payroll, my manager's manager and HR had to have known about our extra hours for the past 5 years, and I have heard more than one manager say that if we work beyond our maximum, then the City would need to pay us benefits as they would any other 20+ hour, sanctioned employee.