Independent Contractor - Job cancelled by employer's customer Arizona

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Independent Contractor - Job cancelled by employer's customer Arizona

OK. Please read everything about this particular situation before just saying "no work performed no pay". i Have been an independent contractor since 2005 and I understand when that rule applies.

In this case I was assigned a work order on Sunday morning for the work to be completed the same day.

When I arrived at the residence of the customer for the client I was doing the contract work for she informed me she had cancelled that service request the previous day minutes after calling and opening it. That would have been Saturday morning around 7:30am according to her.

So, at this point I have nothing invested other than my travel time to her home. However, as a mandate, I am directed to call this situation into their call center before leaving the site. The call center sees that the job order was cancelled well over 24 hours before my scheduled time to arrive, but the company that hired me never cancelled the work ticket that I had accepted and was assigned to me.

The girl that answered the phone sounded genuinely scared and told me that she would put a note on her manager's door to make sure that I was compensated as it was not my fault that I showed up to a cancelled work order. They should have contacted me and canelled with me. To which I agreed with and ended the call with the center.