This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• housing provided and sub par wages Arizona

My wife and I manage a small motel here in Arizona. We get paid a total of $1200.00 per month. Our hours are 0700 till 2100 every day. We get one day off a week which is 8 to 10 hours long. We are provided with a small two bedroom, one bath apartment located directly above the lobby. Electricity and water are provided. We have to provide our own telephone, internet, and telephone service. We are required to admit guests that want to check in at any time of the night. Are we being taken advantage of? What action should I take? We are both seniors and I am a Veteran if that matters.

"We" get paid $1200? Does EACH of you get $1200 or does each of you get half that?
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Sorry, I should have been more specific. We each get a check for $300.00 every two weeks with Social Security and Medicare taken out. No other taxes are held. So before taxes, we get $1200.00 jointly.

Comment

OK, basically you need to keep track of all hours worked by both parties. And remember that we legally are talking about two different employees. The employment rules do not change because the employees are married (or retired). Basically the legal requirements are that the employee be paid minimum wage and overtime each workweek. Both MW and OT are a function of knowing actual hours worked. In your specific case counting the fair market value of the housing and related "faclities" as counting against MW is probably legal. From section 3(m) of the FLSA law.

(m) “Wage” paid to any employee includes the reasonable cost, as determined by the Secretary of Labor,14 to the employer of furnishing such employee with board, lodging, or other facilities, if such board, lodging, or other facilities are customarily furnished by such employer to his employees: