This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am I considered an Employee or not?!?! Arizona

Hi its me again. My Office manager is now arguing that i am not an employee and that is why they are not paying for my attendance at office meetings. I have worked as a independent contractor before, but at this job i have always thought that I was an employee. So am i an employee or not???

Here are my parameters at work:
    I am a massage therapist, in a Chiropractors Office.
    I do receive a W2 tax form, NOT a 1099
    I receive a regular bi-monthly pay check, plus tips.
    I am paid a specific rate per massage that I give.
    I do not receive a percentage of what the doctor gets paid.
    I do leave the premise freely if i do not have a client to see.
    The Doctor supplies all linens, oils, music, table, ect.. used for my job.
    I submitted a resume for this position, when i was first hired.
    I have been asked to contact the office manager, when there is an issue.
    The patients pay the office, not me.

I'm sure there is more, but i think those are the basics. I will be filing out Form SS-8 "determination of workers status" today to see what the IRS has to say about my status, i don't know if that is needed, but i figured it can't hurt.
    Thank you for all the help thus far.

From the WHD Fact-sheet #22:
    Definition of "Employ"
    By statutory definition the term "employ" includes "to suffer or permit to work." The workweek ordinarily includes all time during which an employee is necessarily required to be on the employer's premises, on duty or at a prescribed work place. "Workday", in general, means the period between the time on any particular day when such employee commences his/her "principal activity" and the time on that day at which he/she ceases such principal activity or activities. The workday may therefore be longer than the employee's scheduled shift, hours, tour of duty, or production line time.