All employers in Alabama are required to keep on file a work permit for each employee under 18 years of age. Hour Restrictions for Minors Under 19 Years of Age

16-, 17-, and 18-year-olds:
Minors 16-, 17-, and 18-years-old who are enrolled in public or private school may not work before 5 a.m. or after 10 p.m. on any night preceding a school day.

Those students who have been granted exemptions by their superintendent of education or school headmaster may work past 10 p.m.
Under 18
Work Permits:
Work permits are issued by all county and city boards of education, most high schools and many private or church schools.

14- and 15-year-olds:
During the months when public schools are in session, 14- and 15-year-olds may work:
No more than three hours on a school day;
No more than eight hours on a weekend day;
No more than 18 hours a week;
Not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m.;
Not during school hours.

During the summer months when public schools are not in session, 14- and 15-year-olds may work:
No more than eight hours a day;
No more than six days a week;
No more than 40 hours a week;
Not before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m.

Inspections by the Department of Labor

The Department of Labor has the right of free access to any establishment in which minors may be employed. Anyone who hinders an inspection or makes a false statement to an officer of the Department is guilty of a misde-meanor, The Department has the authority to remove from a job any minor found working in violation of the Alabama Child Labor Law.

Alcoholic Beverages
Employees must be:
At least 21 years of age to serve alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises;
At least 18 years of age to work in that part of an establishment where alcohol is served for consumption on the premises.
Minors 16 and older may be employed in such establishments as busboys, janitors, dishwashers, cooks, hostesses or seaters.
For Additional Information:
Contact Alabama Child Labor Office Montgomery