This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working off the clock Alabama Alabama

I work as a server at a local restaurant. The other day I got to work about 10 minutes early, however, the handbook tells us that we may not clock in more than five minutes early, unless asked to by a manager, and that if we do without permission, our time will be adjusted, and have been asked by the managers not to clock in even a minute early, or they will adjust our time. Once I got there, a fellow employee asked me to take a "to go" order. I mistakenly thought that she was asking me to ring it in, and told her I could not, because I wasn't clocked in and could not clock in yet. Apparently, at some point during this, the guy who wanted to place the order left without making the order because no one would help him. The other employee went to the managers and complained that I had refused to take the order, and lost the customer. I was then called to the office and reprimanded, told that it was my fault that the customer had left, and that I had lost the company that money. I explained that the only reason I hadn't was that I wasn't clocked in yet, and was told that I should have taken the order and given it to someone else to ring in. My job was also threatened because of this. And every bit of this, including when I was reprimanded, occurred before I was scheduled to be there and before I had clocked in.
    Then, that night, I was forced to clock out about 25 minutes before I was allowed to leave. Granted, we were simply waiting on the head servers to check our leaving duties so we could leave, but I had been helping do various duties while I waited, but was allowed to sit down during this time. However, if the head servers found something wrong with those leaving duties, then we would be required to fix them, i.e., sweep or clean or restock various things, and would be required to do these things off the clock.