This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HIPAA Qualifying Event Indiana

I am a school administrator and I am having difficulty adding my wife, child, and future child (due in January) to my insurance. The insurance package that I was offered when I began working for this school system was not any different than the plan that my wife currently had with the rest of my family. However, my school corporation has now given the school administrators are better plan and it is very beneficial for me to add my family. The old plan that I was on was a Plan III that was a high deductible plan that allowed for me to pay the first $6,000 per year in medical bills. The new plan has a deductible for my family of only $3,000 per year. I attempted to get my family on my insurance when the change was made, but I was informed that wasn't possible by my school insurance trust. My wife is now pregnant and due in January. I am again trying to add my family to my insurance once the child is born. The insurance trust tells me the birth of a child isn't a qualifying event. I looked through HIPAA documents this morning and I feel that I meet this criteria in a few different ways:

1. Birth of a child
    2. Newly eligible dependents due to plan design change (I think the change in my plan III deductible would qualify, but I am not sure)
    3. Employment status--Commencement of, or return from, leave of absence (my wife is taking the last 4 months of the school year off)
    4. Loss of Coverage- My wife will be dropped to a COBRA insurance plan and will have to re-enroll next school year back to her old insurance plan. She will have to pay 100% of the premium after her FMLA is up.

Would someone please let me know what they think about this situation?

When is the open enrollment for your plan?

Birth of a child would qualify you to add that child but not the mom and a silbling.

Comment

Open Enrollment