This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I may not qualify for FMLA Illinois

My baby is due january 15 and I qualify for FMLA on January 12, if my baby comes early my human resourse department told me that I would get the standard 6 weeks leave to keep my job, which i was like ok. Then they told me that if i wanted to keep my insurance though i would have to come back after 4 weeks out of those 6 weeks since i only have 4 weeks of vacation time saved up. So I asked what if I want the full 6 weeks off. They told me that i would loose my insurance and have to pay cobra till open enrollement in november. Is this legeal? I am a school teacher in illinois.

Are you a Full Time teacher? Were you a FT teacher last year as well? I ask for a reason.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Yes I am full time paraprofessional. I started working at this school November 2008 as a full time paraprofessional. From then to March 2008 i took a total of 8 days off due to a scheduled leave that i had planned prior to employement. Since then I have not taken any days off. Only what the school has given us due to holidays and teacher institutes.

Comment

OK, that changes things. We will start with federal law. That is easier. Did you work at least 1250 hours last year? This does not count holidays, the 8 vacation days, snow days, or other paid days you were not actually present and working? In my district, under the conditions you describe, you would nt have but every district has slightly different numbers of days Parapros work and number of hours worked in a day.