This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schedule Change

I was recently terminated from a position because I was unable to work a significant schedule change. The situation was this: I worked as a trainer for an outsource call center. We had several clients that were served from our facility. I was assigined to a client that operated 7 to 7 pm. As a result, training classes were typically scheduled either from 7 - 3:30 or 8 - 4:30. I always adjusted my schedule accordingly. Recently we added a new client and I was moved to serve that client. I was told that I was selected becuase I was one of the few who could cover two line groups at the same time. I was sent out of state to train for a couple of weeks. While I was gone, the manager of the out of town office asked that I sit in on a conference call where my manager committed me to a schedule that would regularly require double shifts, from 6:30am to 11:30pm and six day work weeks for as much as 8 weeks at a time. When I advised my manager that I went to school and had family obligations and could not possibly work such a schedule, I was told: "When I can't do the best for you, then I will no longer be here myself." I assummed it was taken care of until I was later told that my schedule had been changed to 3-11 and that I would either work those hours or leave...as the position required flexibility. I was further told that there would be a strong possibility that I might be asked to work those hours for 4 weeks, then different hours after that and that my schooling or outside obligations were not their concern. When I advised that I could not work such hours, I was told how difficult I would be to replace, advised that I was an extremely valuable asset to the team and asked to leave. Do I have a case for wrongful termination? Every review and comment has been glowing...never have I missed a day nor received any type of negative review or comment...