This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Restroom Policy Indiana

I'm a department manager at a company of 125 employees in Indiana, I have a major issue of the employees under me taking advantage of the restroom situation, sitting in there playing on cell phones etc just to have an added rest break, we are talking a huge period of time. Current HR says there is nothing they can do involving restrooms but I have read enough of OHSA and Fair Labor to know that is incorrect to an extent. I also know you cant enforce something that doesn't have a written policy which is why I am taking the initiative, being a department manager, to make a policy and have the CEO himself approve this since the HR department doesn't wish to have any involvement.

The main reason I am posting is to have some people with experienced policy knowledge to critique what I have and make suggestions as needed. I know restrooms are a tough subject and want something that is enforceable to promote employee performance but not something that is illegal and would get the us in trouble with OSHA or Fair Labor. This is what I have, feel free to make any suggestions of adding or removing

3. Restroom Breaks
    a. If you frequent the restroom facility for lengthy periods of time, you will be requested to bring in a medical document
    b. Restroom breaks over 20 minutes will be classified as a period of rest and will NOT be paid
    c. Electronic Devices, Newspapers, Magazines etc are not permitted into the restroom facility

I don't have a problem with your policy in theory. I do want to know how you are planning to enforce it?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Originally posted by cbg View Post
      I don't have a problem with your policy in theory. I do want to know how you are planning to enforce it?