This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salaried Employee In Florida Florida

So I am currently an employee for a large corporation in the state of Florida, and am a salaried employee for this company. I have days where I work less than 8 hours, and I have days where I work close to 10 hours. I have weeks where I work close to 40 hours but I also have weeks where I am **** near close to 60 hours a week. I am new to being a salaried employer, so how do the laws and regulations in Florida go about for someone like me in my position of being a salaried employee. Do they have the right to make me work those 60 hour weeks even though I am only getting paid for 40? (The company does not pay overtime).

Anything helps, I am fairly new to the Florida Labor Laws

Salaried has no legal status of its own. What matters is exempt and non-exempt. Not all exempt employees are salaried; not all salaried employees are exempt.

If you are salaried exempt, you are not being paid for 40 hours (even if your paystub defaults to 40). You are being paid on the value of your position to the company. An exempt employee is expected to work as many hours as it takes to complete the job. It is not at all unusual for an exempt employee to work 50, 60, 70 or even more hours every week, and there is nothing illegal at all about that. You're not being paid by the hour.

If you are salaried non-exempt, then with very rare exceptions you still need to be paid overtime if you work over 40 hours in a week (Florida is not one of the very few states that calculates overtime by the day) but on the flip side you do not need to be paid for any time that you do not work.