This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tattoo shop; Commission labor laws Arizona

I work as a professional body piercer in a tattoo shop in Arizona. I am paid based on commission only. each employee is required to work 12 hours a day, 6 days a week, for a total of 72 hours every week with no overtime pay. I am expected to answer phones, greet customers, and clean the shop, along with my standard piercing duties. This is very common among all tattoo shops in Arizona, to be expected to work so many hours and only make the standard 50% commission with no hourly pay.

There are some days when I will have no customers at all in a 12 hour day, meaning I make no money. yet I am still running the shop, cleaning, and selling body jewelry which I do not get a percentage of. A body piercer makes significantly less than a tattoo artist, so tattoo artists are far more compensated for the time spent at work. But there have been months where I make so little its hard for me to even pay my minuscule bills even though i am at work 72 hours a week, where people that work an hourly minimum wage job working half as many hours are doing far better than myself.

At the end of each month I average about $2 an hour. My question is, is this legal? What are the laws about how many hours you can be expected to work when paid only in commission? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

You are almost certainly non-exempt and while paying on commission is allowed, not paying you for entire days of work is not. You can file a claim for free with the DOL.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

wage claim information Arizona: http://www.ica.state.az.us/labor/labor_wagclm_main.aspx