Trying to find out the truth about my position, Illinois

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to find out the truth about my position, Illinois

Almost five years ago I started work at a big community college in Illinois. First I was a student employee, then professional and about 2 years ago I was promoted to a supervisory position (evening supervisor) and I have been fulfilling these functions and duties ever since.
    I recently discovered that my position was never changed to supervisor in HR. By accident I found out a letter from HR that had been hidden from me that alarmed of the situation.
    There are factors that indicate that paperwork has never been submitted to HR about my supervisory position. All circumstances indicate that I have been purposely mislead.
    I informed my manager. The case got to HR but they still have no position on my case (it has been more than 2 weeks). So far I did not been given any reasonable explanation about the situation.
    What can I do to protect my rights in this situation?

Nothing. They can classify you as the janitor if they wish to, even if you're the Dean of the School of Law. This is entirely an internal policy matter and it's out of your hands. It's up to your manager to straighten out your records with HR. (I'm also wondering if your manager didn't have the necessary authorization from his boss and/or HR to promote you to a supervisory position in the first place. Even if that's the case, there's nothing you can do about it - that's on your boss.)

Comment