Personal Belongings Georgia

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Belongings Georgia

This is my first time on this forum so please do not get mad at me if I am asking a question that perhaps has already been asked. In fact this is my first time ever doing something like this so I'm not sure exactly how it works.

Anyhow I was wondering whether throwing away someones personal belongings at the work place was considered illegal in the state of Georgia. For instance at my job the refrigerators were starting to get really full due to a large group of new hires and people were having a hard time finding a spot to put their lunches in the mornings. So our facilities department decided to implement a rule stating that people were to only bring their lunches rather than a weeks worth of lunch and were to take everything home at the end of the day. Also they decided that on Fridays between 3:30-4:00pm they would go through all of the refrigerators and dipose of any extra food that may be left behind (mind you our hours are 8:00-5:00 and many stay much later). They did not however state that any personal belongings such as bowls or lunchbags would also be thrown away. They have taken it upon themselves to literaly throw away everything in the refrigerator food or not food. Could someone please tell me if this is completely legal or not? It just seems to be so disrespectful when simply setting them on the counter or a table could resolve this issue without throwing away peoples things.

Did you get written notice that this would happen?
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

We got an email stating that any extra food left behind would be thrown away between the stated hours, but nothing about our belongings.

Comment