This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• biometric fingerprinting new jersery union employees New Jersey

Can new jersey union employees legally be fingerprinted by their employer; for time clock "punching"?

For example, New York's Labor Law prohibits employers from fingerprinting employees unless required to do so by law.

This is not the same as a crimninal background check using fingerprints. It is legal.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

Agree. Biometric fingerprint identification systems are different and not illegal for employers to use. And especially so if your union agrees with it.

Comment

Biometrics timeclocks are not fingerprints. The system takes your finger or handprint and turns it into a numeric equation that is stored. The equation is then compared each time you punch.

Comment

In the 1980s I worked at a place where everyone had ID badges with a bar code on the badge. The factory workers would (in theory) "clock in" at one of the door readers and then every time they finished working on a task, would "finish" the task at a different type of reader station. The aggregate time of all finished tasks would in theory be the hours worked for the day.