Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

FL Help Needed - Bookkeeper picks / chooses what hours she agrees to pay me for!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FL Help Needed - Bookkeeper picks / chooses what hours she agrees to pay me for!

I'm in Kissimmee, FL:
    I work part time for a company, sometimes in the retail shop, sometimes at home (I'm a programmer). I've recently started paying attention to my payroll, and am finding that EVERY payroll period, the bookkeeper marks through whatever hours she doesn't want to pay me for (doesn't contact me or the mgr, just marks up my timesheet like a 5th grader's school work). She does it with hours I've worked at home AND hours I was working in the shop - EVERY single paycheck. The assistant and general managers know (as well as the owner) and it STILL continues.

This will probably cost me this job, but at this point I don't care.

My hubby says it is "illegal" for her to write on my timesheet without my knowledge or signature. Is this true? I need two favors (please):
    #1) Can you point me to a document online that I can print out and shove under her nose to let her know it's illegal (if it is?).
    #2) WHERE do I go to file (what? a criminal charge? a labor charge?) -- where do I go and what can I do if she does it again? She's bigger than me, it's not like I can get physical ;-)

Thanks so much for your help. What a tragic day we've come to when we HAVE to work for employers such as this (and I'm a very decent, reputable 50 year old but I don't think my blood pressure can take much more of this).

1. Your husband is wrong. There is no law in any state that makes it illegal for the employer to change a time sheet, with or without the employee being notified. In fact, there are perfectly good reasons for the employer to do so.