This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• exempt and not salaried Minnesota

I work in a hospital as a mental health therapist. I am scheduled to work 32 hours a week. I am an exempt professional. They have my pay setup so that if I work extra hours, I get paid nothing for those hours. However, if I work less hours due to not having many patients, then I also get paid less. How is it legal for me to get paid less for those weeks when I am exempt?
    Note: I called DOL and they were not able to tell me if a mental health therapist qualifies as a practitioner of medicine. Personally, I don't think I am.
    Last edited by TKD; 10-15-2010, 08:04 AM.

If they couldn't give you an opinion, not sure how we could. You can certainly file a claim for unpaid time (in effect, misclassification) with the state DOL and see how it works out.
    I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Then, am I correct that it is not right for them to not pay me for working less hours due to non-personal reasons (assuming that I am not practicing medicine)?

I will call the state office to see if they can give me any clarification about the practice of medicine.

Comment

That's not what I said. IF your work falls under the Learned Professsional exemption, then you CAN be paid an hourly rate for hours worked only; in that case, a guaranteed salary is not required.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment

Agreed with what Patty said. I will include a pointer the related DOL factsheet, plus the most applicable cite from that sheet.