This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 7 days & 112hrs/wk Salaried? - California

My girlfriend works for a major accounting firm and is being required to work 7 days a week, 16 hours a day, from 8am to 12am (sometimes longer) for the next few months during their rush season. That comes out to 112 hours a week with no days off. I'm new to California labor law (originally from the midwest), but this seems unduly harsh. When she started, she was also told that she had a mandatory minimum acceptable amount of overtime that she had to work every year, I think 250 hours. No extra compensation of course since she's salary, but they said they were a requirement. At the rate she's going for the next few months she'll hit that target without issue, but can a salaried employee be worked so hard in California legally? Not sure if she's exempt or non-exempt. Thanks!
    Last edited by Darkhand; 04-09-2010, 07:32 AM.

Check here for the requirements for exempt status. As you appear to already know, "salaried" is merely a pay method and does not necesssarily equate to "exempt".
    http://www.dir.ca.gov/IWC/IWCArticle4.pdf

Regarding days worked in a row, although California does have what is referred to as a "one day's rest in seven" law, it has been interpreted by the DLSE to mean, in practice, the equivalent of one day off per seven days worked in a month. Meaning, at least four days off in one month. To my knowledge, this applies to exempt employees as well as nonexempt; I don't know of an exception for exempt.

Having said that, and I don't mean to belittle how awful this must be, she might consider sucking it up and working the hours NOW, then addressing the situation after work slows down.

Without a contract limiting "extra" hours to XX number, the employer can pretty much require what they need. Minimum is one thing; maximum is another. Having said that, maybe they "need" another employee.