Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Employer not paying salaray and withholding h1 b visa--please help soon New Jersey New Jersey

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employer not paying salaray and withholding h1 b visa--please help soon New Jersey New Jersey

Hi,
    Heres my case.
    my employer is in virginia.i am working at the clients place in NJ.i did my masters and graduated in may 2007 and joined this consultant employer.he applied for my h1.it got approved but he has not yet given it to me sayin that he fears because people transfer to another employer.I need my h1 b visa for license and other purposes.Also he has not given me my last months salary.he is not responding to my call and email.he made me sign a notarised bond with him where i cannot leave him for one year.if i do i should pay him 10000+money he has spent on me.i still have 9 months in the contract.I want to leave him as he is harassing me.are these bonds legal in the u.s?i have heard it is not.Please confirm.Also what do i do about my h1 visa and salary and transferring to another employer..please advice me soon.
    Thanks

An agreement to work for the sponsoring employer is not unusual. To find out if yours is enforceable, you would need to take it to a lawyer to review.

The visa is only good for the employer who sponsors it. Another employer may seek to transfer it but isn't as straightforward as just finding another employer and handing over the visa. I'd suggest speaking with an attorney versed in employment and immigration.

If you have not been paid then you can file a claim with the DOL. This is free.

What type of harassment are you experiencing? What is the reason for it?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment