This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• questions about breaks at work, Iowa

I work at a facility to help the physically and mentally challenged. The facility is a work program for these people (consumers). We have 13 floor employees, 6 smokers and 7 non-smokers. I have been working at this facility for 5 months. I used to be a smoker and quit about 7 weeks ago. I used to get along with all my co-workers but now I find my self getting more irritated with some of them especially the smokers. We take a break when the consumers take a break and I noticed when I first started working here that not everyone took a break at break time, I just thought they were not wanting to take a break because there was no break area for the non-smokers except the rooms they work in or outside with the smokers. Then there is the fact that some of the consumers can not be left alone and thought that my co-workers are really dedicated to their job and didn't need a break. Well I was wrong. Now that I don't smoke I don't get a break. Only the smokers do. About a week ago a co-worker finially asked our supervisor to please fix this issue, so the super made a schedule where we get a 5 minute break at 10 am and at 1:30 pm. The lunch period is at 11:30 till 12:15, 45 minutes, during that time we get 10 minutes for a break and somewhere in there find the time to eat your lunch. We are not to leave are consumers that we are responsible for unless we find a co-worker to watch the consumers for us. If they won't then you don't get a break. And we have a schedule that we are to follow as to who goes out and at what time which is a joke because no one goes out when there suppose to and some consumers can't be left alone and so we can't leave when were suppose to because well we just can't. We are going on our 2nd week of this schedule and I have had 1 10 min. break and 1 5 min break and that was the 1st. day of the schedule. I have talked to all the other non-smokers and