This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• start time Alabama

I work for a service company based in another state (MN). I have a company work truck I have to drive to and from jobs in various locations. My pay does not start until I get to the first job and leave the last job. Company policy is very clear that I not stop to "shop" to or from in the vehicle. I have repair parts shipped to my home almost daily in which have to be put in the truck. When does the work day really begin ?

How long does it take you to load the items into the truck? Is this daily? Is the truck kept at your home and used to commute to and from the jobsites or do you go to another location to pick up the truck?
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

putting parts on the truck is almost a daily occurance. the time to put the parts varies depending on how many and how large sometimes 5 min to as much as 20min. the truck is kept at my house and is used only to travel from one job site to another. there is no local office.
      Last edited by jon64; 08-28-2007, 02:25 AM.

Comment

Putting parts on the truck is compensable time. However, time can be rounded to as much as the nearest quarter-hour, as long as the rounding is done consistently, no matter to whose benefit the rounding accrues.

The commute from your home to your first job site of the day and from your last job site of the day to your home is, generally speaking, not compensable.
        http://www.dol.gov/dol/allcfr/ESA/Ti...9CFR785.38.htm
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment