X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not signing a write up Florida

hi,
    i'm brand new to this forum. i currently work in a very busy restaurant as a server. 2 nights ago my table walked out on a $100+ tab without paying. as a result of this my manager has tried to write me up. i left without signing this write up as i do not feel it is my fault the customers decided to leave without paying their check. i believe they came into the restaurant with every intention to do this because they were provided excellent service and had no reason to walkout. the people were really nice and happy with their experience. i am in turn being punished for their actions.
    is it legal or proper for me to be written up for this event?
    if i dont sign the write up can i legally be suspended or terminated?
    does is depend on state or company policy as to wether this is allowed?

thanks in advance, i'm still learning my rights.
    Last edited by slickster; 07-26-2007, 08:51 AM.

Originally posted by slickster View Post
    is it legal or proper for me to be written up for this event?
    Legal. I won't second guess whether or not it is proper. I have not worked in a restaurant since I was a teenager, which was almost before food was invented. I would think that an employer has a right to expect the staff to try to prevent theft of goods and services. I just don't know what all the circumstances were and whether or not I would write you up.

if i dont sign the write up can i legally be suspended or terminated?
    Yes, you can. Moreover, if you refuse to sign and get fired as a result, the company could characterize that as insubordination and that could lead the state to disqualify you from getting unemployment benefits.

does is depend on state or company policy as to wether this is allowed?