This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hearing on April 9th with UIA Michigan

When I got home after work today, my wife told me that I had received a letter from the UIA. I could not imagine what it had been because, I have been sending in my payments auto-draft for the last several years without fail. Moreover, I noticed that the envelop from them was especially large. However, when I opened it and read the first few lines. "Appeal Request...Hearing Date... I was elated. Even though there is no promise that I would receive any leniency at this hearing, it is just the thought that after 15 years I may have a chance to reduce our largest debt. My hearing date with the Administrative Hearing Judge at the Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency is on April 9 regarding an overpayment in 1992 for $5,900. (In addition, a penalty of four times the actual amount) totaling $23,600.00. Currently this is our largest debt. If we can have, it reduced even a little it would be a tremendous gift.