This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Salaried, Hourly, Exempt, non-exempt Massachusetts

I am a vocational teacher in Massachusetts with an engineering degree. I am salaried exempt. Others are non-exempt and hourly. We all do the same thing. Is this legal? Can our employer (for-profit vocational school) require us to come in on our day off, in excess of 40 hours, for a meeting? They are offering nothing to me, but an $8/hour stipend to the rest.

Read the post again, Joe.

He is an exempt employee. He is not getting paid a cent to attend mandatory training.

I answered the OP's question in another thread, but will restate here, the OP, as an exempt employee can be required to attend the meeting and be paid nothing extra for it. The non-exempt employees may also be required to attend, but must be paid. The $8/hr rate of pay is legal, since is is above minimum wage. For those who end up working more than 40 hours a week, overtime will be a factor. That should mean calculating the OT as a blended rate of the regular rate of pay and the $8/hr training wage.
    Last edited by ScottB; 03-17-2007, 07:38 PM.
    Senior Professional in Human Resources and Certified Staffing Professional with over 30 years experience. Any advice provided is based upon experience and education, but does not constitute legal advice.

Comment

Isn't it illegal to force O.T.?

If I am already working 40+ hours as an exempt employee, why is it okay for my employer to force mandatory meetings on our days off, in excess of 40 hours?
      What are the consequences if I don't show up? As it is, I work 14 hours two days per week.

Comment

Originally posted by hockey View Post
        If I am already working 40+ hours as an exempt employee, why is it okay for my employer to force mandatory meetings on our days off, in excess of 40 hours?