This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• smoking at work Illinois

I work as an hourly manager for (deleted by moderator). We have never been able to take smoking breaks but when we were clocked out for our lunch we could go outside and sit on the patio to eat and smoke. Now they are making us sign a new policy stating that we can't smoke on or near company property.
    Are they allowed to tell us that if we are not being paid for our breaks. The other part of the policy allows for the bread bakers(who are locked in overnight) to smoke inside the building. Is this legal?

1. Please delete your employer.

2. Yes, it is perfectly legal for them to tell you that you cannot smoke on the premises, and it is a new and growing trend amongst employers. In fact, here in my state of LA, it is state law that an employer CANNOT allow smoking indoors, nor in a company car.

3. An employer is free to treat one category of employers completely different from another, as long as their reasoning for treating them differently is not based upon a protected characteristic. In your question, you specifically ask if the night bakers can be allowed to smoke in the building, while others aren't. My answer is yes, with a few caveats:
    a. Provided allowing employees to smoke is not illegal under any local, federal, or state law.
    b. As long as allowing one category of workers to smoke indoors is not based upon, nor has any direct relationship to any protected category. For instance, let's say that by chance, all of the office workers are female, and by chance only, all of the bakers are male. It could be argued that the men are receiving favorable treatment in the workplace (although you probably wouldn't get very far. You would have to prove it is BECAUSE they are male).

Comment

bears00 is absolutely correct!

There may be safety reasons why the night bakers are permitted to smoke indoors (that don't exist during normal business hours).