This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computer Job: Am I Exempt? Michigan

My employer is trying to claim in my new contract that I will be an exempt employee. I think he's really reaching to try to avoid paying me overtime.

Let me explain my job duties; and please explain to me if I'm wrong to think I am not exempt.

Basically I work for a small IT company that consults, services, and maintains several charter school's computers/networks. I am a technician that will troubleshoot problems either remotely from our office, or drive to the site and fix any hardware, software, networking, etc. issues that may occur. I don't design software. I don't program as well. I'm basically a technician who troubleshoots issues as they occur, and sets up and configures any new networking components, computers, servers, printers as they come along.

Am I wrong to think it's pretty clear that my duties don't fall anywhere near a computer exemption?

Please help me out on this. I've already contacted the DOL, and spoke with someone there. They told me that "it sounds like" (shouldn't they know ) I am not an exempt employee.

My opinion is that you should be considered non-exempt. My opinion and two bucks will get you a cup of coffee (though not at Starbucks ).

Seriously, even the DOL will not give you a hard and fast yes or no based on a telephone call. But I agree that I'm not seeing any evidence to support an exempt classification.
    The above answer, whatever it is, assumes that no legally binding and enforceable contract or CBA says otherwise. If it does, then the terms of the contract or CBA apply.

Comment

Originally posted by cbg View Post
      My opinion is that you should be considered non-exempt. My opinion and two bucks will get you a cup of coffee (though not at Starbucks ).