X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Paying Independent Contractor Hourly? Washington

Hello all -

I'm new in business and new to this site.

I am starting a restaurant delivery service. We will pay drivers to pickup food from restaurants and bring it to customers.

From doing a little market research, it seems all my competitors are hiring the drivers as independent contractors - not as employees. I would like to to the same to minimize liability and keep costs down.

I've read that normally an IC is paid by-the-job. However I planned to pay my drivers an hourly wage + tips received.

My question is : Can I classify my drivers as Independent Contractors and still pay them an hourly wage? Are there any other "tests" that they must pass in order to qualify as Independent Contractors?

Thanks in advance!
    -Mike
    Last edited by slugmike; 03-06-2007, 01:34 PM.

http://www.twc.state.tx.us/news/efte...s_ic_test.html

It's a tad more complicated than that; here's a place to start your research.

After you finish researching, then hire a tax CPA.
    “Be not niggardly of what costs thee nothing, as courtesy, counsel, & countenance.”

--Benjamin Franklin

Comment

I've gone through those IRS tests, and I think I can have the driver position satisfy the requirements... as long as the act of paying an hourly wage doesn't automatically make them my employees.

Here's something else I'm running into.

What if my employees meet the definition of an IC under the federal rules, but not under the state rules???

Comment

Originally posted by slugmike View Post
        I've gone through those IRS tests, and I think I can have the driver position satisfy the requirements...
        How do you figure? Don't you have the right to control what they do, when they do it, and how they do it? That's an employee.
        I don't respond to Private Messages unless the moderator specifically refers you to me for that purpose. Thank you.

Comment