Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Illegal paycheck deduction in Texas Please help!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illegal paycheck deduction in Texas Please help!

I am trying to figure out if this is Illegal and haven't seen anything online in the past couple days so please help me:

I am a mechanic for a Toyota dealership. Upon recieving warranty work we have to submit a time to Toyota to be compensated for the labor invovled in fixing the warranty problem on a vehicle. If for some reason Toyota denies the labor time, whether it be technician fault or incorrect/outdated times in a book provided, the dealership gets charged back the full amount "overpaid". The manager has threatened to make all technicians responsible fully to repay this rejected time.

Example: Toyota pays the dealership 100 dollars for the warranty claim and the technician gets paid 20 dollars. The shop profits 80 dollars. After the claim is submitted and if its rejected, Toyota wants the full 100 dollars back. Instead of deducting 20 dollars from the employee's check, the dealership now wants the full 100 dollars.

The dealership neither gains or loses anything, how exactly can they charge back an employee more than what they were orginally paid?

Next week the manager will force us to sign a payroll deduction form to make this possible, but if we refuse to sign our jobs may be at risk.
    What can I do? Can anyone provide any legal statutes or codes or website links that may pertain to this?
    Thanks,
    Chris

Contact the Texas Workforce Commission.
    http://www.twc.state.tx.us/ui/lablaw/paydaylaw_faq.pdf

61.018. DEDUCTION FROM WAGES. An employer may not
    withhold or divert any part of an employee's wages unless the
    employer:
    (1) is ordered to do so by a court of competent
    jurisdiction;
    (2) is authorized to do so by state or federal law; or
    (3) has written authorization from the employee to