This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eligible for unemployment???? New Jersey

Hello. I am a bookkeeper. My employer gives certain employees a monthly check for travel expenses. They do actually travel. They receive a 1099 at the end of the year. As far as I , and the IRS, are concerned - I believe this is all income and needs to be included in wages on their W-2. I have been harping on this for months, to no avail. I have convinced the controller of this but the final change must come from the president. I go in to work today and begin my bank reconciliation, which is done daily. A check was written this morning to the controller for $1820.00. I look to see where it is posted. She made herself a 1099 vendor and posted the $1820.00 to traveling expense. She does not even travel. I thought my head was going to explode. If I quit this job on the grounds that they practice unethical accounting methods and are ripping off the IRS and State of New Jersey would I be disqualified from collecting benefits ?????????

Why not just keep this job while looking for another? It is questionable that you would get benefits for this reason and if you do, it is still going to be lss than you are making while working.
    I post with the full knowledge and support of my employer, though the opinions rendered are my own and not necessarily representative of their position. In other words, I'm a free agent.

Comment

It is a principle thing. I have to cohabitate the same office as the controller. I now have no respect for her whatsoever and don't know if I can stomach that. I explicitely told them when I started this job that I operate by the book. I called the IRS and they said this is tax fraud. I do have a large car payment, though. I faxed out a few resumes this afternoon.

Comment